The inaugural Indian Street Premier League, India’s pioneering tennis ball T10 cricket tournament, commenced yesterday at the Dadoji Kondadev Stadium in Mumbai.

The ISPL will witness fierce competition from six formidable teams – Chennai Singams, Tiigers of Kolkata, Falcon Risers Hyderabad, Bangalore Strikers, and Srinagar Ke Veer – as they battle for the coveted ISPL Championship title. The teams are owned by acting superstars from Hindi, Tamil and Telugu cinema, including Akshay Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan, Hrithik Roshan and Saif Ali Khan and Kareena Kapoor.

The tournament, lasting till 15th March, promises to revolutionize cricket in India with its innovative T10 format, featuring 10 overs per innings and exciting toss ritual called the ‘Tip-Top Toss’. “A never-seen-before showdown is about to set the field on fire!” they declared on Instagram, and urged fans to buy their tickets.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ISPL (@ispl_t10)

The cricket extravaganza was kickstarted by a ‘Special Exhibition March’ which showcased the legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar’s Master XI taking on Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar’s Khiladi XI. At the end of the game, Masters XI won by 5 runs. However, the day was marked with a momentous occasion when Bigg Boss winner Munawar Faruqui knocked out the cricket legend in the fifth over of the Master XI innings.

Today, Chennai Singams will go up against Tiigers of Kolkata, and Falcon Risers Hyderabad will go up against Bangalore Strikers.